Recognition Requirements

One of the ACCME’s functions, as specified in the 2006 Bylaws of the ACCME, is to "Serve as the body recognizing institutions and organizations offering continuing medical education accreditation.”  The ACCME recognizes  state and territory medical societies/state accrediting bodies that accredit institutions and other intrastate organizations that provide continuing medical education (CME) activities primarily to learners from their state or contiguous states as opposed to ACCME-accredited providers, which offer CME primarily to national or international audiences. 

The ACCME refers to the state medical society in this role as a “Recognized Accreditor”  Recognized Accreditors must meet the ACCME’s recognition requirements designed to maintain a uniform, national system of CME accreditation helping to assure physicians, state legislatures, CME providers, and the public that all CME programs within the ACCME system are held to the same high standards.

ACCME Markers of Equivalency

As part of its commitment to continuous improvement, the ACCME released an updated set of recognition requirements in 2008.  The Markers of Equivalency were developed by the ACCME in collaboration with Recognized Accreditors and the ACCME’s Advisory Committee on Equivalency, a group composed of state medical society leaders from across the country.  The purpose of the Markers is to ensure the equivalency of accreditation decision-making across the national system, and streamline and strengthen the recognition process.

The ACCME’s 2008 Markers of Equivalency are:

1.   Equivalency of Rules

2.   Equivalency of Process

3.   Equivalency of Interpretation

4.   Equivalency of Accreditation Outcome

5.   Equivalency of Evolution/Process Improvement

Click here for more detailed information regarding the ACCME Markers of Equivalency .